Biomedical Devices, Sensors & Systems

Arbabian, Boahen, Bowden, Chichilnisky, de la Zerda, Dutton, Fan, Ganguli, Goldsmith, Harris, Hesselink, Horowitz, Howe, Khuri-Yakub, Kovacs, Levin, Liang, McConnell, Murmann, Poon, Shenoy, Soh, Solgaard, Vuckovic, Wang, Wong, Xing

Biological properties can be measured and altered using electronics, magnetics, photonics, sensors, circuits, and algorithms. Applications range from basic biological science to clinical medicine, and enable new discoveries, diagnoses, and treatments by creating novel circuits, devices, systems, and analyses. Examples include:

  • Measuring molecular concentrations
  • Measuring and altering activity of electrically-excitable cells such as neurons
  • Building implantable bio-sensors and bio-stimulators
  • Brain-machine interfaces
  • On-chip imaging and sensing
  • Photonic systems for in vivo imaging
  • Nucleic acid synthesis, sequencing and analysis
  • THz and differential phase contrast x-ray imaging
  • Wireless sensing and powering
  • Constructing low-cost devices for point-of-care medical applications
  • Designing new algorithms and systems for early cancer screening and detection

19 results found.

Sort order
Filter By
Results
Amin Arbabian

Amin Arbabian Assistant Professor

Allen 204 (4070)
Website

Niu, Helen Administrator

Packard 310 (4070)
723-8121
helen.niu@stanford.edu

Audrey Bowden

Audrey Bowden Assistant Professor

Packard 361 (4088)
Website

Ayres, Susan Administrator

Spilker 306 (4088)
725-9199
sjayres@stanford.edu

Robert Dutton

Robert Dutton Professor

Allen 333X (4075)
Website

Barrera, Fely Administrator

Allen 332X (4075)
723-1349
fely@ee.stanford.edu

Jonathan Fan

Jonathan Fan Assistant Professor

Spilker 307 (4088)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spilker 306 (4088)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Andrea Goldsmith

Andrea Goldsmith Professor

Pkd 371 (9515)
Website

Gillespie, Julia Administrator

Packard 365 (9515)
723-2681
jvgill@stanford.edu

James S. Harris

James S. Harris Professor

Allen 328X (4075)
Website

Jimenez, Francesca Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
fjimenez@stanford.edu

Mark A. Horowitz

Mark A. Horowitz Professor

Gates 306 (9030)
Website

Swenson, Mary Jane Administrator

Gates 279 (9030)
723-0748
mswenson@cs.stanford.edu

Roger T. Howe

Roger T. Howe Professor

Allen 114 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Pages