EE Student Information

The Department of Electrical Engineering supports Black Lives Matter. Read more.

• • • • •

EE Student Information, Spring Quarter through Academic Year 2020-2021: FAQs and Updated EE Course List.

Updates will be posted on this page, as well as emailed to the EE student mail list.

Please see Stanford University Health Alerts for course and travel updates.

As always, use your best judgement and consider your own and others' well-being at all times.


Prof. Solgaard and a 2015 EE graduate
June 2015

June 14th marked Electrical Engineering's 121st commencement, Stanford's 124th. Beginning with a picnic lunch on the Medical School Dean's lawn, EE graduates, their families, and friends, gathered to celebrate. Following lunch, graduates lined up between the Li Ka Shing Center and the Fairchild Center, sorting into B.S., M.S., and PhD lines. Led by Bachelor of Science students, the processional of nearly 400 students made its way into the shaded tent, filled with family and friends.

As the graduates took their seats, a gentle breeze lifted the university, state, and national flags on either side of the stage. Abbas El Gamal, Hitachi America Professor in the School of Engineering, and Professor and Chairman of Electrical Engineering, called the ceremony to order. Professor El Gamal emphasized the extraordinary efforts of the graduating students, complimenting them on their curiosity, creativity and energy.

Prof El Gamal and Maisy Weiman
Three departmental awards were announced. The first being the Departmental Design Project Award, sponsored by Agilent. This year's recipients are from EE 152 – the Green Electronics Capstone Project Course – one of eight Capstone Project courses available to undergraduates. Capstones reflect the breadth of the EE major and the diversity of students' interests and depth areas. The group of recipients include Meredith Burkle, Ned Danyliw, Alex Dewing, Travis Geis, Axel Sly, Nathan Staffa, and Michael Tomasi.


The James F. Gibbons Outstanding Student Teaching Award went to Steven Bell (PhD candidate), Jayant Charthad (PhD candidate), Seonghyun Paik (PhD Candidate), and Maisy Weiman (M.S. '15) (pictured above).

The Chair's Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education, is awarded each year to peer-elected faculty or staff member for their exceptional contributions to undergraduate education and support of the department as a whole. Professor Simon Wong is the 2015 recipient, acknowledged for his tremendous commitment to undergraduate education.

student speaker Atinuke Ademola-Idowa (M.S.'15)
Student speaker Vince Sparacio (B.S. '15) encouraged those in attendance to care for themselves by practicing balance in all aspects of their lives, beginning with enjoying graduation day and expressing gratitude to those that helped them complete their degree. Atinuke Ademola-Idowa (M.S. '15) (pictured) answered the question, "What next?" by reminding graduates and guests of Stanford's founding idea: to benefit society. She encouraged us to make the world a better place by taking action – not to be indifferent to the world's challenges, but be voices of justice through our work.



Congratulations to the 2015 Electrical Engineering graduates!

View the 2015 EE Commencement photo album.

Subscribe to RSS - graduate