Biomedical Devices, Sensors & Systems

Arbabian, Boahen, Chichilnisky, de la Zerda, Dutton, Fan, Ganguli, Goldsmith, Harris, Hesselink, Horowitz, Howe, Khuri-Yakub, Kovacs, Levin, Liang, McConnell, Murmann, Nuyujukian, Poon, Shenoy, Soh, Solgaard, Vuckovic, Wang, Wong, Xing

Biological properties can be measured and altered using electronics, magnetics, photonics, sensors, circuits, and algorithms. Applications range from basic biological science to clinical medicine, and enable new discoveries, diagnoses, and treatments by creating novel circuits, devices, systems, and analyses. Examples include:

  • Measuring molecular concentrations
  • Measuring and altering activity of electrically-excitable cells such as neurons
  • Building implantable bio-sensors, bio-stimulators, and closed-loop delivery systems
  • Brain-machine interfaces
  • On-chip imaging and sensing
  • Photonic systems for in vivo imaging
  • DNA synthesis and sequencing
  • Nucleic acid synthesis, sequencing and analysis
  • THz and differential phase contrast x-ray imaging
  • Wireless sensing and powering
  • Constructing low-cost devices for point-of-care medical applications
  • Designing new algorithms and systems for early cancer screening and detection

18 results found.

Sort order
Filter By
Results
Amin Arbabian

Amin Arbabian Assistant Professor

Allen 204 (4070)
Website

Niu, Helen Administrator

Packard 310 (4070)
723-8121
helen.niu@stanford.edu

Robert Dutton

Robert Dutton Professor

Allen 333X (4075)
Website

Barrera, Fely Administrator

Allen 332X (4075)
723-1349
fely@ee.stanford.edu

Jonathan Fan

Jonathan Fan Assistant Professor

Spilker 307 (4088)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spilker 306 (4088)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

James S. Harris

James S. Harris Professor

Allen 328X (4075)
Website

Frost, Chet Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
cffrost@stanford.edu

Lambertus Hesselink

Rutherford, Eiko Administrator

Spilker 206 (4070)
650-725-8331
erutherford@stanford.edu

Mark A. Horowitz

Mark A. Horowitz Professor

Gates 346 (9030)
Website

Swenson, Mary Jane Administrator

Gates 279 (9030)
723-0748
mswenson@cs.stanford.edu

Roger T. Howe

Roger T. Howe Professor

Allen 114 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Butrus Khuri-Yakub

Butrus Khuri-Yakub Professor (Research)

Spilker 217 (4088)
Website

Ungson, Socorro Administrator

Spilker 213 (4088)
723-0203
sungson@stanford.edu

Pages