View EE News by year.

October 2013

Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Sachin Katti recently won the 2013 SIGCOMM Rising Star Award. 

This award recognizes a young researcher, an individual no older than 35, who has made outstanding research contributions to the field of communication networks during this early part of his or her career. 

According to SIGCOMM, "The award is in recognition of outstanding research contributions, early in his career, in wireless communications and networking. His approach to cross-layer wireless design brings together computer networking, signal processing and information theory to solve long-standing problems in wireless networks. Highlights of his research contributions include a practical approach to achieve full-duplex radios (Mobicom'10, MOBICOM'11, SIGCOMM'13) and rateless network design for practical adapation of sender transmission rate (SIGCOMM'11, MOBICOM'12). To quote from his nomination 'Sachin Katti’s research has transformed the way we think about wireless communications.'"

October 2013

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Statistics Andrea Montanari and Associate Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering Philip Levis have each won the 2013 Okawa Foundation Research Grant.

The Okawa Foundation's mission is to promote the field of ICT and seek its development through such means as awards and research grants, and to further international and cultural exchanges in this area.


October 2013

Electrical Engineering Professor Jelena Vuckovic has been awarded a Hans Fischer Senior Fellowship from the Institute for Advanced Study at the Technical University in Munich, Germany. 

Up to four fellows (from any science/engineering field) are named per year, and they are given freedom and funding to pursue research activities in collaboration with TUM on high risk/high reward projects, without burden of writing proposals. The fellowship is named after Hans Fischer, a TUM faculty who was awarded a Nobel Prize in chemistry for his work on hemoglobin.

Stephen Harris
October 2013

Stephen Harris, the Kenneth and Barbara Oshman Professor in the School of Engineering and Professor of Applied Physics, Emeritus, was recently elected as an Honorary Member of the Optical Society of America (OSA). According to the OSA, Harris was selected for his "pioneering and profoundly influential contributions to the science of light, including optical parametric emission, lasing without inversion, electromagnetically induced transparency, and single cycle optical pulse generation."

Honorary Membership is OSA’s most distinguished membership status. Harris joins a group of only 45 OSA Honorary Members elected since the Society was founded in 1916.

November 2013

EE Professor Andrea Goldsmith, the Stephen Harris Professor in the School of Engineering, along with former Stanford EE PhD student Syed Ali Jafar, former Stanford EE postdoc Ivana Maric, and Sudhir Srinivasa, recently received the 2013 IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award for their paper "Breaking Spectrum Gridlock With Cognitive Radios: An Information Theoretic Perspective,” Proceedings of the IEEE, Vol. 97, No. 5, May 2009, pp. 894-914.

The award is presented at the IEEE's annual awards ceremony and is given to an outstanding tutorial paper published in any Communications Society publication in the previous five calendar years.

EE Professor Robert Dutton
December 2013

Stanford EE Professor Robert Dutton, the Robert and Barbara Kleist Professor of Engineering and Director of Research in the Center for Integrated Systems, recently received the 2013 Aldert van der Ziel Award at the annual International Semiconductor Device Research Symposium (ISDRA).

The Aldert van der Ziel Award was established in honor of Professor Aldert van der Ziel for his long and distinguished career as an educator and a research scientist. Each ISDRS, the van der Ziel Award is given in recognition of an individual’s distinguished educational and research contributions to the field of electronic devices and materials.


Subscribe to RSS - 2013