Stanford Electrical Engineering

You are here

News and Awards

February 2013 Abbas El Gamal

Elected to the National Academy of Engineering

For contributions in information theory, information technology, and image sensors.

Read More »

February 2013

January EE staff gift card program awardees announced

Due to a wonderful nomination response to the department’s new monthly Gift Card Bonus Program, six Electrical Engineering staff members have been recognized in January to receive a $50 gift card for their extraordinary efforts. The committee received 18 nominations, with a few staff receiving several nominations.

Following are the January awardees, in addition to some comments from their nominators:


Keith Gaul, Instructional Labs Manager:  

  • “Keith’s demeanor can be described as quiet competence.”

  • “He accomplishes his job so smoothly that one never hears about the difficulties it entails.”

  • “He is always so generous sharing his time.”

  • “He helps us when the professor needs something ordered yesterday, when the students burn out their last chip, or when something goes wonky with equipment.”


John DeSilva, Systems and Network Manager:

  • “John has always been willing and ready to help with ANY IT issue.”

  • “I ask him for his help, and he comes that same day!”

  • “John is a man of few words and big actions.”

  • “He handles crisis calmly.”

  • “I’ve lost count of how many times I have asked his help and he is very fast in replying to me and members of my research group and always offers helpful advice.”


Tharman Patton, Shipping and Receiving:

  • “This was the first time I met Tharman, but he made the experience very pleasant and was nice and happy throughout.”



Ashley Kim, Administrative Associate:

  • “She set up our conference rooms (in both Allen and AllenX) using Google calendar.”



Ann Guerra, Administrative Associate:

  • “Ann is always on top of everything.”

  • “She takes care of the details.”

  • “As a result of her effort, my life and those of many others is of much higher quality.”


Amy Duncan, Degree Progress Officer:

  • “Amy has been guiding me for the past 2 quarters towards the progress of my Masters degree.”

  • “I know that she works hard to contact students personally and remind them of their deadlines/submissions that is required for their graduation.”

  • “Amy responds to emails quickly and finds time to speak with students.”


The School of Engineering recently gave the EE department several gift cards to distribute to staff members who are recognized for going above and beyond. Two people will be recognized in February, and nominations from January will still be eligible for future months. EE faculty, staff and students are welcome to nominate a deserving staff person by visiting

January 2013 Thomas Kailath

Honorary Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences


The Indian Academy of Sciences was started by the only Indian Nobel laureate
in physics, C V Raman. No more than three distinguished scientists are
elected as Honorary Fellows to this prestigious Academy every year.

December 2012 Nick McKeown

Appointed as the 3rd holder of the Kleiner Perkins, Mayfield, Sequoia Capital Professorship in the Sch of Engineering


Prof. Nick McKeown

Appointed as the third holder of the Kleiner Perkins, Mayfield, Sequoia Capital Professorship in the School of Engineering


Nick McKeown has been appointed as the third holder of the Kleiner Perkins, Mayfield, Sequoia Capital Professorship in the School of Engineering. This endowed chair was established in 1996 with an endowed gift from Tom Ford. It was the donor’s wish that the chair support faculty working in advanced technologies or methodologies with a preference for individuals who demonstrate an understanding of the value of interaction between the academy and the world of business.

Prof. McKeown is a Professor of Electrical Engineering and of Computer Science. He currently serves as director of the Clean Slate Internet Design Program. He received his B Eng degree from the University of Leeds in electrical and electronic engineering in 1986; he earned electrical engineering/computer science MS and PhD degrees from the University of California, Berkeley in 1992 and 1995, respectively.

Prior to coming to Stanford in 1995, he spent time at Hewlett-Packard Labs in Bristol, England. He was the CEO/co-founder of Nemo Systems (now part of Cisco) and the CTO/co-founder of Abrizio Inc. (acquired by PMC-Sierra). He also co-founded Nicira Networks Inc., where he is currently a board member.

His current research focuses on techniques to improve the Internet. Much of his work has focused on the architecture, design, analysis, and implementation of high-performance Internet switches and routers. His recent interests have broadened to include network architecture, backbone network design, congestion control, and how the Internet might be redesigned if we were to start from scratch.

A member of the US National Academy of Engineering, he is also a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, of the IEEE, and of the ACM. He has received the British Computer Society Lovelace Medal, the IEEE Kobayashi Computer and Communications Award, and the ACM SIGCOMM’s Lifetime Contribution Award.