Optics, Nanophotonics & Quantum Tech

Ellerbee, Fan, Fan, Harris, Hesselink, Kahn, Kazovsky, Miller, Pianetta, Saraswat, Solgaard, Vuckovic, Zebker

Physics, materials, devices, and systems are investigated using light and electromagnetism generally, for applications including sensing, imaging, communications, computing, energy, biology, medicine, security, and information processing. Scientific work ranges from basic quantum mechanical processes in nanostructures to planetary science, incorporating technologies from nano- and micro-scale fabrication through radio and optical fiber communications to environmental probes. Examples include:

  • Photonics: Devices, systems and applications involving electromagnetic waves, in particular light. Applications include communicating information, where photonics plays a crucial role; medical instrumentation; imaging, sensing, and (photovoltaic) solar power generation;
  • Nanoscience & Engineering: Physics of nano-photonic structures (where the minimal feature sizes are at the single wavelength or even deep subwavelength scales); controllable fabrication of nanophotonic materials and structures; and the applications of such structures in low-energy information processing and communications, high-efficiency energy conversion, sensing, and medicine;
  • Quantum Technologies: Study and employment of quantum mechanical properties of light and matter for applications including secure communications, quantum and classical computing, and sensing. Nanophotonics and nanoscience play crucial roles in building a platform for quantum technologies.

Audrey Ellerbee

Audrey Ellerbee Assistant Professor

Spilker 207 (4088)
Website

Ayres, Susan Administrator

Spker 306 (4088)
725-9199
sjayres@stanford.edu

Jonathan Fan

Jonathan Fan Assistant Professor

Spilker 307 (4088)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spker 306 (4088)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Shanhui Fan

Shanhui Fan Professor

Spilker 314 (4088)
Website

Ungson, Socorro Administrator

Spker 213 (4088)
723-0203
sungson@stanford.edu

James S. Harris

James S. Harris Professor

Allen 328X (4075)
Website

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Lambertus Hesselink

Sasaki, Reiko Administrator

Spilker 206 (4070)
725-8331
rsasaki@stanford.edu

Joseph M. Kahn

Joseph M. Kahn Professor

Spilker 216 (9515)
Website

Claudette Earl Administrator

Spilker 213 (9515)
3-0027
cearl@stanford.edu

Leonid G. Kazovsky

Leonid G. Kazovsky Professor (Research)

Pkd 362 (9510)
Website

Oshiro, Pat Administrator

Pkd 365 (9510)
723-2681
poshiro@stanford.edu

David A. B. Miller

David A. B. Miller Professor

Spilker 203 (4085)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spker 306 (4085)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Piero A. Pianetta

Piero A. Pianetta Professor (Research)

McC 334 (MS69)
Website

Burns-Wood, Laura Administrator

SLAC (MS69)
926-2922
lbw@slac.stanford.edu

Krishna Saraswat

Krishna Saraswat Professor

Allen 326X (4075)
Website

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Olav Solgaard

Olav Solgaard Professor

Spilker 315 (4088)
Website

Peterman, Yurika Administrator

Spker 206 (4088)
723-9723
yurika.peterman@stanford.edu

Jelena Vuckovic

Jelena Vuckovic Professor

Spilker 209 (4088)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spker 306 (4088)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Howard Zebker

Howard Zebker Professor

Pkd 334 (9515)
Website

Niu, Helen Administrator

Packard 310 (9515)
723-8121
helen.niu@stanford.edu