Energy

Multi-Disciplinary Research in Energy

Research in energy is motivated at the macro level by the rapid rise in worldwide demand for electricity and the threat of global climate change and on the micro level by the explosion in the number of mobile devices and sensors whose performance and lifetimes are limited by energy.

On the macro level, electronic loads, such as data centers, smart appliances, and electric vehicles, are poised to overtake traditional industrial loads in consumption share. Renewable energy will make up at least half of the generation mix and drive adoption of novel technologies such as storage, fuel cells, waste to power and distributed generation. Our research investigates techniques such as demand response and the use of energy storage to reduce peak demand and address variability of renewable energy.

On the micro level, we are exploring energy efficient devices, power electronics, system architectures, and network protocols, as well as ways to harvest energy from the environment for wearable devices and the Internet of things. More details on projects in energy are provides in the following research subareas.

Subareas

Amin Arbabian

Amin Arbabian Assistant Professor

Allen 204 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Dan Boneh

Dan Boneh Professor

Gates 475 (9045)
Website
Stephen P. Boyd

Stephen P. Boyd Professor

Pkd 254 (9510)
Website

Chaffee, Doug Administrator

Pkd 259 (9510)
721-2892
dchaffee@stanford.edu

Bill Dally

Bill Dally Professor (Research)

Gates 301 (9045)
Website

George, Sue Administrator

Gates 303 (9045)
725-2340
sue.george@stanford.edu

John Duchi

John Duchi Assistant Professor

Sequoia 126 (4065)
Robert Dutton

Robert Dutton Professor

Allen 333X (4075)
Website

Barrera, Fely Administrator

Allen 332X (4075)
723-1349
fely@ee.stanford.edu

Abbas El Gamal

Abbas El Gamal Professor

Pkd 262 (9510)
Website

Sligar, Karin Administrator

Pkd 174 (9510)
723-6471
ksligar@stanford.edu

Per Enge

Per Enge Professor Aeronautics and Astronautics
EE by Courtesy

Shanhui Fan

Shanhui Fan Professor

Spilker 314 (4088)
Website

Ungson, Socorro Administrator

Spker 213 (4088)
723-0203
sungson@stanford.edu

Peter Glynn

Peter Glynn Professor Management Science and Engineering
EE by Courtesy

Andrea Goldsmith

Andrea Goldsmith Professor

Pkd 371 (9515)
Website

Oshiro, Pat Administrator

Pkd 365 (9515)
723-2681
poshiro@stanford.edu

James S. Harris

James S. Harris Professor

Allen 328X (4075)
Website

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Lambertus Hesselink

Sasaki, Reiko Administrator

Spilker 206 (4070)
725-8331
rsasaki@stanford.edu

Mark A. Horowitz

Mark A. Horowitz Professor

Gates 306 (9030)
Website

Swenson, Mary Jane Administrator

Gates 279 (9030)
723-0748
mswenson@cs.stanford.edu

Roger T. Howe

Roger T. Howe Professor

Allen 114 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Ramesh Johari

Ramesh Johari Associate Professor Management Science and Engineering
EE by Courtesy

Gregory Kovacs

Gregory Kovacs Professor

Allen 202X (4075)
Website

Nicholas, Claire Administrator

Allen 203X (4075)
723-0720
claireni@stanford.edu

Christos Kozyrakis

Christos Kozyrakis Associate Professor

Gates 304 (9030)
Website

George, Sue Administrator

Gates 303 (9030)
725-2340
sue.george@stanford.edu

Sanjay Lall

Sanjay Lall Professor

Pkd 235 (9510)
Website

Oshiro, Pat Administrator

Pkd 365 (9510)
723-2681
poshiro@stanford.edu

Thomas Lee

Thomas Lee Professor

Allen 205 (4070)
Website

Wang, June Administrator

Allen 203 (4070)
724-1342
junewang@ee.stanford.edu

Subhasish Mitra

Subhasish Mitra Associate Professor

Gates 336 (9030)
Website

Davis, Beverly Administrator

Clark Center W352 (9030)
723-1458
beverlyd@stanford.edu

Andrea Montanari

Andrea Montanari Associate Professor

Pkd 267 (9510)
Website

Kuduk, Andrea Administrator

Pkd 267 (9510)
723-4731
kuduk@ee.stanford.edu

Boris Murmann

Boris Murmann Associate Professor

Allen 208 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Kunle A. Olukotun

Kunle A. Olukotun Professor

Gates 302 (9040)
Website

Hadding, Darlene Administrator

Gates 408 (9040)
723-1430
darleneh@stanford.edu

Marco Pavone

Marco Pavone Assistant Professor Aeronautics and Astronautics
EE by Courtesy

Ada Poon

Ada Poon Assistant Professor

Pkd 237 (4070)
Website

Wang, June Administrator

Allen 203 (4070)
724-1342
junewang@ee.stanford.edu

Eric Pop

Eric Pop Associate Professor

Allen 335X (4075)
Website

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Balaji Prabhakar

Balaji Prabhakar Professor

Pkd 269 (9510)
Website

Kuduk, Andrea Administrator

Pkd 267 (9510)
723-4731
kuduk@ee.stanford.edu

Ram Rajagopal

Ram Rajagopal Assistant Professor Civil and Environmental Engineering
EE by Courtesy

Juan Rivas

Juan Rivas Assistant Professor

Allen 210 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Krishna Saraswat

Krishna Saraswat Professor

Allen 326X (4075)
Website

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Olav Solgaard

Olav Solgaard Professor

Spilker 315 (4088)
Website

Peterman, Yurika Administrator

Spker 206 (4088)
723-9723
yurika.peterman@stanford.edu

David Tse

David Tse Professor

Packard 264 (9510)
Website

Niu, Helen Administrator

Packard 310 (9510)
723-8121
helen.niu@stanford.edu

Benjamin Van Roy

Benjamin Van Roy Professor

Pkd 273 (9510)
Website

Kuduk, Andrea Administrator

Pkd 267 (9510)
723-4731
kuduk@ee.stanford.edu

Jelena Vuckovic

Jelena Vuckovic Professor

Spilker 209 (4088)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spker 306 (4088)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Simon S. Wong

Simon S. Wong Professor

Allen 203 (4070)
Website

Wang, June Administrator

Allen 203 (4070)
724-1342
junewang@ee.stanford.edu

Yinyu Ye

Yinyu Ye Professor Management Science and Engineering
EE by Courtesy