Biomedical Devices & Systems

Arbabian, Boahen, Chichilnisky, de la Zerda, Dill, Dutton, Ellerbee, Fan, Ganguli, Goldsmith, Harris, Hesselink, Horowitz, Howe, Khuri-Yakub, Kovacs, Liang, McConnell, Murmann, Olshen, Poon, Shenoy, Solgaard, Vuckovic, Wang, Wong, Xing

Biological properties can be measured and altered using electronics, magnetics, photonics, sensors, circuits, and algorithms. Applications range from basic biological science through clinical medicine, and enable new discoveries, diagnoses, and treatments by creating novel devices, systems, and analyses. Examples include:

  • Measuring molecular concentrations,
  • Measuring and altering activity of electrically-excitable cells such as neurons,
  • Building implantable bio-sensors and bio-stimulators,
  • DNA sequencing,
  • THz and differential phase contrast x-ray imaging,
  • Wireless sensing and powering,
  • Aiding in the operation of the cardiovascular and nervous systems. 

Amin Arbabian

Amin Arbabian Assistant Professor

Allen 204 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

EJ Chichilnisky

EJ Chichilnisky Professor Neurosurgery; Opthalmalogy
EE by Courtesy

Adam de la Zerda

Adam de la Zerda Assistant Professor Structural Biology
EE by Courtesy

David Dill

David Dill Professor Computer Science
EE by Courtesy

Robert Dutton

Robert Dutton Professor

Allen 333X (4075)
Website

Barrera, Fely Administrator

Allen 332X (4075)
723-1349
fely@ee.stanford.edu

Audrey Ellerbee

Audrey Ellerbee Assistant Professor

Spilker 207 (4088)
Website

Ayres, Susan Administrator

Spker 306 (4088)
725-9199
sjayres@stanford.edu

Jonathan Fan

Jonathan Fan Assistant Professor

Spilker 307 (4088)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spker 306 (4088)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Surya Ganguli

Surya Ganguli Assistant Professor Applied Physics
EE by Courtesy

Andrea Goldsmith

Andrea Goldsmith Professor

Pkd 371 (9515)
Website

Oshiro, Pat Administrator

Pkd 365 (9515)
723-2681
poshiro@stanford.edu

James S. Harris

James S. Harris Professor

Allen 328X (4075)
Website

Palafox, Crystle Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
palafox@stanford.edu

Lambertus Hesselink

Sasaki, Reiko Administrator

Spilker 206 (4070)
725-8331
rsasaki@stanford.edu

Mark A. Horowitz

Mark A. Horowitz Professor

Gates 306 (9030)
Website

Swenson, Mary Jane Administrator

Gates 279 (9030)
723-0748
mswenson@cs.stanford.edu

Roger T. Howe

Roger T. Howe Professor

Allen 114 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Butrus Khuri-Yakub

Butrus Khuri-Yakub Professor (Research)

Spilker 217 (4088)
Website

Ungson, Socorro Administrator

Spker 213 (4088)
723-0203
sungson@stanford.edu

Gregory Kovacs

Gregory Kovacs Professor

Allen 202X (4075)
Website

Nicholas, Claire Administrator

Allen 203X (4075)
723-0720
claireni@stanford.edu

David Liang

David Liang Associate Professor Cardiovascular Medicine
EE by Courtesy

Michael McConnell

Michael McConnell Professor Cardiovascular Medicine
EE by Courtesy

Boris Murmann

Boris Murmann Associate Professor

Allen 208 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Richard A. Olshen

Richard A. Olshen Professor Biostatistics
EE by Courtesy

Ada Poon

Ada Poon Assistant Professor

Pkd 237 (4070)
Website

Wang, June Administrator

Allen 203 (4070)
724-1342
junewang@ee.stanford.edu

Krishna Shenoy

Krishna Shenoy Professor

Clark Center W100-A (5436)
Website

Davis, Beverly Administrator

Clark Center W352 (5436)
723-1458
beverlyd@stanford.edu

Olav Solgaard

Olav Solgaard Professor

Spilker 315 (4088)
Website

Peterman, Yurika Administrator

Spker 206 (4088)
723-9723
yurika.peterman@stanford.edu

Jelena Vuckovic

Jelena Vuckovic Professor

Spilker 209 (4088)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spker 306 (4088)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Shan X. Wang

Shan X. Wang Professor

McC 351 (4045)
Website

Pacheco, Nuvia Administrator

McC 333 (4045)
723-0197
npacheco@stanford.edu

H.-S. Philip Wong

H.-S. Philip Wong Professor

Allen 312X (4075)
Website

Barrera, Fely Administrator

Allen 332X (4075)
723-1349
fely@ee.stanford.edu

Lei Xing

Lei Xing Professor Radiation Oncology
EE by Courtesy