Biomedical

Arbabian, Boahen, Butts Pauly, Chichilnisky, de la Zerda, Dill, Dutton, Ellerbee, Fan, Ganguli, Glover, Goldsmith, Hargreaves, Harris, Hesselink, Horowitz, Howe, Khuri-Yakub, Kovacs, Lee, Levin, Liang, McConnell, Murmann, Napel, Nishimura, Olshen, Pauly, Pelc, Poon, Shenoy, Solgaard, Spielman, Vuckovic, Wandell, Wang, Wong, Xing

Multi-Disciplinary Biomedical Research

Research in the biomedical area deals with the challenges of the rapid increase in lifespan, which has simultaneously increased the need for treatment and the mitigation of age-related illnesses like cancer, brain injury and disease. Lower-cost, prevention-oriented health care delivery is critically needed, as well as new approaches to previously untreatable health conditions. Addressing these challenges requires discovering and creating fundamentally new devices and systems for critical diagnostics (sensors, imaging), therapeutic (lasers, pacemakers, and neural interfaces), and analytical (high-throughput sequencing, healthcare IT) technologies.

Descriptions of current interdisciplinary research in this area are provided in the following research subareas:

Subareas 

20 results found.

Sort order
Filter By
Results
Amin Arbabian

Amin Arbabian Assistant Professor

Allen 204 (4070)
Website

Hamel, Marie Administrator

Packard 217 (4070)
497-6217
mhamel@stanford.edu

Robert Dutton

Robert Dutton Professor

Allen 333X (4075)
Website

Barrera, Fely Administrator

Allen 332X (4075)
723-1349
fely@ee.stanford.edu

Audrey Ellerbee

Audrey Ellerbee Assistant Professor

Spilker 207 (4088)
Website

Ayres, Susan Administrator

Spilker 306 (4088)
725-9199
sjayres@stanford.edu

Jonathan Fan

Jonathan Fan Assistant Professor

Spilker 307 (4088)
Website

Tarien, Ingrid Administrator

Spilker 306 (4088)
723-0206
ingrid@ee.stanford.edu

Andrea Goldsmith

Andrea Goldsmith Professor

Pkd 371 (9515)
Website

Gillespie, Julia Administrator

Packard 365 (9515)
723-2681
jvgill@stanford.edu

James S. Harris

James S. Harris Professor

Allen 328X (4075)
Website

Jimenez, Francesca Administrator

Allen 329X (4075)
723-0983
fjimenez@stanford.edu

Lambertus Hesselink

Sasaki, Reiko Administrator

Spilker 206 (4070)
725-8331
rsasaki@stanford.edu

Mark A. Horowitz

Mark A. Horowitz Professor

Gates 306 (9030)
Website

Swenson, Mary Jane Administrator

Gates 279 (9030)
723-0748
mswenson@cs.stanford.edu

Roger T. Howe

Roger T. Howe Professor

Allen 114 (4070)
Website

Guerra, Ann Administrator

Allen 207 (4070)
725-3725
guerra@ee.stanford.edu

Butrus Khuri-Yakub

Butrus Khuri-Yakub Professor (Research)

Spilker 217 (4088)
Website

Ungson, Socorro Administrator

Spilker 213 (4088)
723-0203
sungson@stanford.edu

Pages